Drivers’ License Suspension After a DWUI
August 27th, 2021
If you were charged with Driving While Under the Influence (DWUI), you face the loss of your drivers’ license. An experienced DWUI defense attorney can challenge the DWUI charges and preserve your driving privileges.
The laws surrounding drivers’ license suspension after a Wyoming DWUI are surprisingly complex. You actually face two drivers’ license suspension proceedings. The first is an administrative license suspension that occurs 30 days after you were charged with a DWUI. The second is a drivers’ license suspension that occurs if you are convicted of a DWUI.
Even if the charges against you are ultimately dismissed, your drivers’ license could still be suspended if you do not act quickly to take the steps necessary to challenge the drivers’ license suspension.
To challenge a drivers’ license suspension and preserve your driving privileges, an experienced DWUI defense attorney can help.
Temporary Drivers’ License After a DWUI Charge
If you were charged with a DWUI, you should have received a temporary driver’s license that is valid for 30 days after you were arrested. When the 30-day period ends, your drivers’ license will be suspended.
To contest the suspension, you should hire an attorney to help you request a hearing or a record review from the Wyoming Department of Transportation. You need to file the request within 20 days after you were charged.
Request a Probationary Drivers’ License After a DWUI Conviction
If you are convicted of a DWUI, your license will be suspended for at least 90 days.
You are not allowed to drive while your license is suspended, but you may be able to request a probationary driver’s license.
An experienced DWUI defense attorney can help you apply for a probationary license. You must be able to show that having your driver’s license suspended will result in an inability to obtain basic necessities like food, clothing, shelter, or education. You can also request permission to drive to and from work while your license is suspended.
However, your request for a probationary license might be denied if:
- Your license is expired
- You never had a driver’s license
- You have been issued another probationary license in the last 5 years
- Your license is currently suspended or has been revoked
- You are subject to an administrative license suspension
- This is your second DWUI charge
- You are required to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle
A DWUI defense attorney can assist you in appealing the suspension of your driving privileges by filing the appropriate paperwork and representing you at the license suspension hearing.
Driving Privileges After Multiple DWUI Offenses
If this is your second or subsequent DWUI charge, you are not eligible for a probationary drivers’ license. And if you are convicted, your license will be suspended for one year.
Once the suspension is over, you will need to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed, at your expense, and apply for a drivers’ license reinstatement.
If this is your third or fourth DWUI charge within 10 years, you are not eligible for a probationary drivers’ license and your drivers’ license will be suspended for 3 years. After the three-year suspension is up you can apply for drivers’ license reinstatement.
How a Lawyer Can Help
If you have been charged with a DWUI in Wyoming, you should contact an experienced DWUI defense lawyer as soon as possible. There are short time limits you must abide by if you wish to challenge your drivers’ license suspension and request a probationary driver’s license.
A DWUI defense lawyer will know the applicable laws, can help you prove why you need a probationary drivers’ license, and will help you challenge the drivers’ license suspension.
A DWUI defense lawyer will also help you fight the DWUI charge.
At Just Criminal Law Group, DWUI defense attorney Christina L. Williams and her criminal defense team fight to protect your one shot at justice. Our team will challenge the basis for the traffic stop and the evidence against you. We will try to have evidence of your intoxication excluded, and will fight to have the charges reduced or even dismissed.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article is offered for educational purposes only. This information is not offered as legal advice. A person accused of a crime should always consult with an attorney before making decisions that have legal consequences.
Categories: DUI / DWUI / Drunk Driving