A Former Prosecutor Defending Clients in Wyoming and South Dakota
If you've been arrested and charged with drunk driving, this may your first brush with the law, other than minor traffic violations like speeding tickets.
Drunk driving charges are scary. And DUI sentencing in Wyoming includes criminal and administrative penalties. The uncertainty about what will happen can be frustrating. Understandably, you have questions, and are concerned about your driver's license, other professional licenses, and the considerable fines and court costs that can be imposed for a DUI/DWUI conviction. Not to mention possible prison time and the impact a DUI/DWUI conviction could have on your career.
At Just Criminal Law, we're here to answer your questions, and want to help you by defending your rights and preparing your legal defense.
First time DUI/DWUI offenders face both criminal and administrative penalties.
A first-time DUI/DWUI offense in Wyoming does not carry a mandatory minimum jail sentence. However, if you're convicted of DUI/DWUI, you face a maximum of up to six months in prison, a fine of up to $750, or both. And if there was a child 16 years or under in the vehicle with you, you face between 6 months and a year in prison.
Wyoming DUI/DWUI convictions carry a mandatory administrative license suspension of at least 90 days. If your BAC was higher than .15%, the court may require that you install an ignition interlock device, at your own expense, after your license is reinstated.
You will also be required to undergo a substance abuse assessment, also at your own expense.
In Wyoming, a DUI/DWUI conviction remains on your record, and will influence any future DUI/DWUI charges, for 10 years. If you get charged with another DUI/DWUI within 10 years, you will not be considered a first time offender.
If this is your second DUI/DWUI charge within 10 years, the criminal and administrative penalties are even more severe.
For a second DUI/DWUI within 10 years, you face fines between $250 and $750 and a minimum of 7 days in jail. The judge may sentence you to a maximum of 6 months in prison.
Second-time DUI/DWUI offenses in Wyoming carry a license suspension of 1 year. Second time offenders are not eligible for a probationary license. You will be required to attend a substance abuse program and undergo a substance abuse analysis. If you wish to have your driver's license reinstated, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device, at your expense. The license suspension will remain in effect, even if a court later dismisses the DUI charge.
The criminal and administrative penalties become increasingly more severe for multiple DUI/DWUI offenses within 10 years.
If this is your third or fourth DUI/DWUI offense, you face between 30 days and 2 years in jail, and fines and penalties from $250 up to $10,000, plus court costs.
Conviction for your third or fourth DUI/DWUI within 10 years will result in a minimum license suspension of 3 years, and you will be required to attend a substance abuse program. You will not be eligible for a probationary license.
Wyoming DUI/DWUI penalties and fines can be summarized as follows:
Up to 6 months
7 days to 6 months
1 to 6 months
|Up to 2 years|
Fines and Penalties
Up to $750
$250 to $750
$750 to $3,000
|Up to $10,000|
Ignition Interlock Required?
|Yes - if BAC .15 |
|Yes||Yes - lifetime|
The fines and penalties for a DUI/DWUI conviction in Wyoming can be severe. And with a 10 year look-back period, a DUI/DWUI will remain on your record and influence any future criminal charges you may face for a very long time. That's why it's so important to hire a skilled, experienced Wyoming DUI/DWUI attorney as soon as possible.
When you hire Just Criminal Law, I put my team of DUI/DWUI defense professionals to work for you. We know Wyoming DUI/DWUI law inside and out, and will do everything we can to reduce the charges, minimize the penalties, or even have the case thrown out.
During your personalized case review and strategy session, our dedicated client care specialist will learn about your background, and go over your case and the circumstances surrounding your arrest. As we learn about you, we'll answer your questions and help you understand the criminal defense process. After the strategy session, our investigative team will get to work preparing your defense and defending your rights.
The first few days after a DUI/DWUI charge are critical. There are court filings and administrative procedures that need to be addressed. If you're facing DUI/DWUI charges in Wyoming, don't hesitate. Contact Just Criminal Law today. Call 307-686-6560, email email@example.com, or complete our online form.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article is offered for educational purposes only. This information is not offered as legal advice. A person accused of a crime should always consult with an attorney before making decisions that have legal consequences.