A Former Prosecutor Defending Clients in Wyoming and South Dakota

5 Common Questions About a First Offense DWUI in Wyoming

If you were arrested and charged with a first offense DWUI in Wyoming, you no doubt are concerned and even worried about what will happen next, and whether you should hire a lawyer.

Here, we answer 5 of the most common questions our clients ask when they’re deciding whether to hire a Wyoming DWUI defense lawyer for their first DWUI in Wyoming.

1. What are the potential penalties for a first offense DWUI in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, penalties for a DWUI vary depending on whether it is your first DWUI offense, or whether you have been convicted of a DWUI before.

For a first offense DWUI in Wyoming, potential penalties include:

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Up to $750 in fines
  • Driver’s license suspension for up to 90 days
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) at your expense if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was .15% or higher

2. How can a lawyer help if you were charged with a first offense DWUI in Wyoming?

If you were charged with your first DWUI in Wyoming, you’re rightfully concerned. You may be thinking “I’m guilty, so what’s the point in hiring a lawyer?”

In reality, hiring a lawyer to defend you against a Wyoming DWUI can be one of the best decisions you can make. A Wyoming DWUI defense lawyer can challenge:

  • the Administrative License Suspension
  • the results of a breathalyzer test
  • the Field Sobriety Tests (FSTs)
  • whether the officer had probable cause to believe you were intoxicated in the first place
  • whether the officer had probable cause to stop you in the first place

If your Wyoming DWUI defense lawyer can have some of the evidence against you thrown out the prosecutor might be willing to offer a plea deal to something less than a Wyoming DWUI, or even have the case against you thrown out entirely.

3. What if I am underage and was charged with a first offense DWUI in Wyoming?

If you are under age 21 in Wyoming, you can be charged with DWUI with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .02% or higher and your license will be suspended for 90 days under Wyoming’s “zero tolerance” law.

If your BAC is .08% or higher you will be charged with a Wyoming DWUI.

4. If I am under the influence of marijuana can I be charged with a Wyoming DWUI?

While more states are legalizing marijuana for recreational and medicinal use, marijuana is still illegal in Wyoming.

If you are stopped and the officer suspects you are under the influence of marijuana, you may be asked to submit to a blood sample to test for the presence of marijuana metabolites.

5. What if I am charged with a DWUI in Wyoming and have a CDL?

If you have a Commercial Drivers’ License (CDL), you are subject to higher standards than other drivers.

You can be charged with a Wyoming DWUI if you are driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of .04%.

A DWUI while operating a personal vehicle can also have negative consequences for your CDL as you could lose your CDL for up to one year.  

Charged with a First Offense DWUI in Wyoming? The Team of Criminal Defense Professionals at Just Criminal Law Is Here Help

If you or someone you care about has been charged with a first offense DWUI in Wyoming, the team of criminal defense professionals at Just Criminal Law can help. We are here to protect your one shot at justice, and have extensive experience defending people who have been charged of a DWUI in Wyoming.

Contact us today by calling 307-686-6556, email inquiry@justcriminallaw.com, or complete our online form.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article is offered for educational purposes only. This information is not offered as legal advice. A person accused of a crime should always consult with an attorney before making decisions that have legal consequences.

Contact Us For a Free Case Consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Newsletter

powered by BirdEye