A Former Prosecutor Defending Clients in Wyoming and South Dakota
If you were arrested in Wyoming for Driving While Under the Influence (DWUI), the police officer most likely took your driver’s license and issued you a temporary license that is good for 30 days. If you do not challenge the Administrative Per Se License Suspension within 20 days, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days, even if you are ultimately not convicted of DWUI.
It is critical that you not drive while your license is suspended. If you are caught driving while your license is suspended, it will have serious consequences for your DUI charge. It will also cost you more time and money to defend.
It is also important that you not drink and drive while your driver’s license is suspended. If you are caught drinking and driving while you have a pending DWUI charge, you will face a second DWUI charge with the potential for greater punishments
The best way to request limited driving privileges is by challenging the Administrative per Se License Suspension within 20 days of being charged with DWUI. If you did not request a review of your Administrative Per Se License Suspension within 20 days after receiving notice of the suspension, your DWUI defense attorney may be able to request a hearing or record review for a probationary driver’s license. To be successful, your attorney must be able to demonstrate that the suspension will make you unable to obtain basic necessities like food, shelter, clothing, or education.
A probationary driver’s license will allow you to drive to work or school, to care for a sick relative, and to obtain basic necessities like food, shelter, and clothing. If you qualify for a probationary license you must:
You are only eligible for a probationary license after your first DWUI charge. If this is your second DWUI charge or more within the past five years, you are not eligible for a probationary driver’s license.
If you have served at least 45 days of your license suspension, you may be eligible for an ignition interlock restricted license.
Once your suspension is complete, you can request to have your driver’s license reinstated. To be eligible, you must meet the following criteria:
Reinstating a suspended Wyoming driver’s license is expensive. The general fees you will be required to pay for license reinstatement may include:
If you have been charged with a DWUI in Wyoming, it’s important that you hire a qualified, experienced DWUI defense attorney as quickly as possible. The sooner you get a knowledgeable DWUI defense lawyer on your side, the better your chances of beating the DWUI charge, or at least minimizing the impact of a DWUI conviction.
At Just Criminal Law, my team of DWUI defense professionals will work hard to protect your rights, guide you through the legal process, and protect your one shot at justice.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article is offered for educational purposes only. This information is not offered as legal advice. A person accused of a crime should always consult with an attorney before making decisions that have legal consequences.