Felony DWUI Charges in Wyoming

If you live in Wyoming and received your fourth charge for Driving While Under the Influence (DWUI) in 5 years, you are confronting a felony-level crime. Penalties for a Felony DWUI conviction in Wyoming include up to 7 years in prison, and fines of up to $10,000.

If you are facing Felony DWUI charges in Wyoming, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney who knows Wyoming DWUI law, can walk you through your best defenses, and will help minimize the impact of a DWUI conviction on your life.

At Just Criminal Law, my team of skilled and experienced DWUI defense professionals is here to help with aggressive advocacy both in and out of the courtroom. We will work hard to investigate any possible defenses, explore your legal options, give you advice on how to minimize the consequences of your arrest, and fight to protect your legal rights.

Make no mistake – Felony DWUI charges are not to be taken lightly. It’s imperative that you have a skilled and experienced Wyoming DWUI defense lawyer on your side to vigorously defend you against these charges.

Why is my Wyoming DWUI Charge a Felony?

A felony is any crime that is punishable by more than 1 year in prison.

Like all other states in the union, if you drive with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08% or higher you can be charged with and convicted of DWUI. Absent any extenuating circumstances, if this is your first, second, or third DWUI charge within 10 years, you are probably facing misdemeanor charges. For example, a third DWUI conviction in 10 years carries a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail, up to a maximum of 6 months of incarceration, as well as fines between $750 and $3,000.

But if this is your fourth DWUI charge in 5 years, you are facing a Felony DWUI.

There are other circumstances that could lead to a Felony DWUI charge, even if this is not your fourth DWUI charge.

Causing Bodily Harm While DWUI

If you were driving while intoxicated and injured another person, you could be facing Felony DWUI charges. If another person died as a result of an accident you caused while intoxicated, you could be charged with reckless homicide in addition to the Felony DWUI charge.

Child in the Vehicle While DWUI

In Wyoming, you can be charged with Felony DWUI if there was a child under the age of 16 present in the vehicle that you were driving while intoxicated.

Penalties for a Felony DWUI Conviction in Wyoming

If you are convicted of a Felony DWUI in Wyoming, you face penalties that include:

  • Up to 7 years in jail
  • Fines of up to $10,000, plus court costs
  • Mandatory attendance at a state approved substance abuse program, at your expense
  • A driver's license suspension determined by the court that will likely exceed 3 years, during which time you will be unable to obtain a probationary driver’s license (also known as Limited Driving Privileges)
  • A mandatory SR-22 bond once your license has been reinstated
  • Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle, at your expense.

Facing a Felony DWUI Charge in Wyoming? Contact Just Criminal Law Today

If you or someone you love is facing Felony DWUI charges in Wyoming, it is imperative that you hire a skilled and experienced Wyoming Felony DWUI defense attorney as quickly as possible.

At Just Criminal Law, I have a team of experienced DWUI defense professionals who will fight hard for your one shot at justice.

Contact us today by calling 307-686-6556, email us at info@justcriminallaw.com, or complete our online information form.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this article is offered for educational purposes only. This information is not offered as legal advice. A person accused of a crime should always consult with an attorney before making decisions that have legal consequences.